Skip navigation

808sreview21

Kanye West’s “808’s and Heartbreak”

Yesterday I received my copy of Kanye West’s “808’s and Heartbreak.” The packaging on the Limited Edition version (I think they all might be “LE”) is super fresh. Mr. West and his art team created a winning combination of modern design, style and color. Along with the 3 Fold Album Jacket comes an 8 Fold (16 Page) foldout including the albums lyrics and info as well as a Mini-Poster of Kanye on one side in his “808” Suit and on the other a photo of him and his mother, the late Mrs. Donda West. The design is an Instant Classic.

All that and I haven’t even gotten to the music yet. This departure from the usual cocky and overbearing West shows a softer side of him as a human and artist. Mixing his signature 808 drum settings with live orchestration and heavy synth the album is a nice change that may be overlooked by and miss-communicated to the normal listening public. Must listen tracks include the single “Love Lockdown” as well as “Amazing” feat. Young Jeezy (which includes my favorite line so far: I’m exhausted, barely breathing, holding on to what I believe in, no matter what you’ll never take that from me, my reign is as far as your eyes can see.) and “Robocop.” The only weak spots I have found so are are the final track “Pinocchio Story” which is a Live freestyle and the overtly long drum outros on a couple of the tracks.

Packaging: A+
Music: A-
Overall: A

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

